The Detective Bureau is comprised of one sergeant, two full-time detectives, and one full-time civilian investigator.

The Detective Sergeant

The detective sergeant reviews every single crime report generated by patrol officers and based on his input and direction, assigns every single crime report to one of the personnel best suited to investigate or follow up with the case.

Parts of the Detective Bureau

The Detective Bureau is broken down into four categories:

  • Crimes Persons - homicide, robbery, assaults, rape, etc.
  • Crimes Property - residential / commercial / vehicle burglaries, thefts, vandalism, etc.
  • Financial Crimes - identity theft, fraud, forgery, etc.
  • Evidence and Property Management

Although all Detective Bureau personnel are cross-trained in all of these areas, a specific detective or investigator is assigned the primary responsibility for each of these types of investigations or management of a specific function.